What type of tissue is produced by meiosis and what can start this process?

What type of tissue is produced by mitosis and what can start this process?

Mitosis is a process of cell division in eukaryotic organisms that lead to production of two daughter cells from one mother cell who are genetically totally similar to each other, as well as with the mother cell.

What does the process of meiosis start with?

Meiosis begins with a parent cell that is diploid, meaning it has two copies of each chromosome. The parent cell undergoes one round of DNA replication followed by two separate cycles of nuclear division.

What tissue is produced by mitosis?

During these processes, the cell undergoes a type of cell division called mitosis . In mitosis, two cells called daughter cells are produced. It is essential that any new daughter cells produced contain genetic information that is identical to the mother cell, and that the number of chromosomes remains constant.

What type of tissue is produced by meiosis and what can start this process?

Meiosis. A specialized division of chromosomes called meiosis occurs during the formation of the reproductive cells, or gametes, of sexually reproducing organisms. Gametes such as ova, sperm, and pollen begin as germ cells, which, like other types of cells, have two copies of each gene in their nuclei.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the difference between meiosis I and meiosis II quizlet?

What is the end result of meiosis?

What is the end result of meiosis? Results in four daughter cells, not genetically identical but contains same number of chromosomes.

Which of the following tissues can be used to demonstrate mitosis?

All the cells in the human body are somatic cells except germinal cells in the male and femal reproductive organs. The somatic cells divide by mitotic cell division for growth and regeneration. These can be used to demonstrate mitosis.

What does mitosis ultimately result in?

Mitosis ultimately results in the formation of what? 2 Genetically identical daughter cells. What is the correct order for the phases of mitosis? Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, and Telophase.

What are two processes by which tissues grow?

In animals, tissue growth occurs during embryonic development, post-natal growth, and tissue regeneration. The fundamental cellular basis for tissue growth is the process of cell proliferation, which involves both cell growth and cell division occurring in parallel.

What is meiosis and its stages?

Meiosis consists of two divisions, both of which follow the same stages as mitosis (prophase, metaphase, anaphase, telophase) Meiosis is preceded by interphase, in which DNA is replicated to produce chromosomes consisting of two sister chromatids.

What are the 8 stages of meiosis in order?

What are the 8 stages of meiosis?

  • prophase I. the chromosomes condense, and the nuclear envelope breaks down.
  • Metaphase I. pairs of homologous chromosomes move to the equator of the cell.
  • Anaphase I.
  • Telophase I and Cytokinesis.
  • Prophase II.
  • Metaphase II.
  • Anaphase II.
  • Telophase II and Cytokinesis.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Why does meiosis occur 2 times?