What is the structural unit of chromatin?

What is the structural unit of chromosome?

The subunit designation of the chromosome is chromatin. The fundamental unit of chromatin is the nucleosome. The nucleosome consists of about 200 bp wrapped around a histone octamer that contains two copies of histone proteins H2A, H2B, H3 and H4. These are known as the core histones.

Where is chromatin structure?

Chromatin is a complex of macromolecules composed of DNA, RNA, and protein, which is found inside the nucleus of eukaryotic cells.

What is the smallest unit of chromatin?

Chromatin is the term given to the complex of DNA associated with histones. A nucleosome is the smallest repeating unit of chromatin, formed from eight histone proteins and two loops of coiled DNA.

What is the functional unit of chromosome?

Answer: Genes are the functional unit of chromosomes which is responsible for heredity and inheritance.

What are the parts of chromosomes?

A chromosome has generally 8 parts; Centromere or primary constriction or kinetochore, chromatids, chromatin, secondary constriction, telomere, chromomere, chromonema, and matrix.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is autism special education?