In which stage of meiosis the chromosome is thin?

When chromosomes are thin they are called?

Hence, the correct answer is ‘Leptotene

In which stage the chromosome appear thin long thread like?

S phase: the second, or synthesis phase, of interphase during which DNA replication occurs • The chromatin condenses to form chromosomes • The chromosomes appear as long, thin and thread like structures.

In which steps are chromosomes thicker?

Throughout the process of prophase the chromosomes condense meaning they get shorten and thicken to form visibly distinct threads within the nucleus.

In which stage of mitosis the chromosomes are thickest thinnest?

The phase of mitosis in which chromosomes are thickest and shortest is Anaphase .

What happens in G2 phase?

During the G2 phase, extra protein is often synthesized, and the organelles multiply until there are enough for two cells. Other cell materials such as lipids for the membrane may also be produced. With all this activity, the cell often grows substantially during G2.

Which stage in meiosis is known as slender thread stage?

The leptotene stage, also known as the leptonema, is the first of five substages of prophase I in meiosis. The term leptonema derives from Greek words meaning “thin threads”.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the major differences between the genomes of bacteria and eukaryotes?

In which stage the chromosomes appear thin and long thread like with distinct Chromomeres along their length?

The first stage of meiotic prophase I. After DNA replication, the chromatin condenses to form visible chromosomes which appear as long thin threads comprising pairs of replicated DNA molecules. Small areas of thickening (chromomeres) appear along the length of the chromosomes.

Which phase do chromosomes become shorter and thicker?

During prophase the nucleoli disappear and the chromatin fibers thicken and shorten to form discrete chromosomes visible with the light microscope. Each replicated chromosome appears as two identical chromatids joined at the centromere.

What are the 4 stages of the cell cycle?

In eukaryotes, the cell cycle consists of four discrete phases: G1, S, G2, and M. The S or synthesis phase is when DNA replication occurs, and the M or mitosis phase is when the cell actually divides. The other two phases — G1 and G2, the so-called gap phases — are less dramatic but equally important.